Ten Temptations of God in the Wilderness

Numbers 14:22  Because all those men which have seen my glory, and my miracles, which I did in Egypt and in the wilderness, and have tempted me now these ten times, and have not hearkened to my voice;

Moses records this stunning pronouncement of God against the children of Israel.  After they had tempted Him 10 times in their Exodus journey, He forbids them to enter into the promised land though they later repented and sought to go.  The promised land stands as a type of the walk of faith and New Testament believers are warned, “To day if ye will hear his voice, Harden not your hearts, as in the provocation, in the day of temptation in the wilderness” (Heb 3:7-8).

In order to better understand how they tempted God those ten times, I’ve provided a chart listing the location and sin of the people as well as Moses’ response and God’s action.

Numbers 14_22 – List of Ten Temptations of God in the Wilderness

2 Comments

  1. Thank you Pastor Steve for creating and posting this chart. I am teaching a class on the Pentateuch and we’ve come to this place in Numbers where the Lord mentions the 10 temptations. Your chart is a big help!

    Andrew
    truthforsaints.com

Leave a comment